mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

The Lunch Fairy

A lunch sits on a blue tablecloth with a brown...

Image via Wikipedia

Dear Lunch Fairy,

Hi. I have been hesitant to write you, I just could not decide if you were real or not. Then I starting “pinning” and I realized you must be real, how else would all those holiday themed lunches I see pinned exist? Am I supposed to believe that real people actually have the time to make heart-shaped sandwiches for Valentines’ Day or a St. Paddy’s Day themed lunch for their little ones??

Let me be honest with you, lunch is not my favorite meal. I am more of a breakfast person. Give me a bowl of cereal and I am a happy girl. I can eat it for any meal and feel content. However, being an adult and mom I realize that I have to prepare meals that consist of things other than some oats covered in milk (with a occassional banana slice thrown in).

I try, I really do, to make lunch fun but you know what, it just isn’t. I now feel for my own mother who made me lunch for 12 years only to hear me complain about having ham again or that my sandwich was squished when I got to school. How did mom not kill me?

So Lunch Fairy, please accept this as a request to retain your services starting ASAP. Just a couple of things you may need to know, J (the 3yo) only eats dino chicken nuggets (the frozen kind) and occasionally pancakes (no butter or syrup) and the twins, well they subside on beige foods (not sandwiches though). M hates fruit and J refuses to drink juice. You can come up with some healthy, fun lunch ideas based on that right?

I will pay whatever your fee is and even offer you a month in advance if you would also be willing to prepare lunch for me as well. I would like one of those healthy, sensible lunches I read about in magazines, you know the ones all the celebs tell us they eat (and make for themselves). Maybe some seasoned grilled chicken breast over mixed baby greens or salmon with steamed veges. I know there is no way that I can prepare those at 5:55am as I wait for the coffee to brew and stare at my empty lunch bag.

Thank you Lunch Fairy and I hope we will be working together for a very long time.

ps – Can you get me the contact information for the Dinner Fairy please 🙂

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “The Lunch Fairy

  1. Please send her my way too!

  2. You can do it! I say this not based on kids, but a husband who is picky as heck, that I can’t *make* eat stuff. I still manage fun dinners. LoL.

Leave a Reply

