mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

#TBT: Fairy Godmother, I have a bone to pick with you

Happy Throwback Thursday everyone!! The following was one of my first posts from back in March 2012. Sadly, it still rings true today (lol).

Thanks for reading and have a good day 🙂

 

Dear Fairy Godmother,

It occurred to me today that you and I are suffering from a lack of communication. When I told you years ago that I wanted to be Cinderella when I grew up, I was referring to the Cinderella post-Prince Charming. The one who met a Prince at a ball, fell in love,  had a fairytale wedding and then lived happily ever after in a grand castle with a little princess and prince. Not the Cinderella who works all day, cooks and cleans up after everyone and has to deal with an evil X (substitute mother-in-law, boss, neighbor etc).

I am grateful and truly appreciative of the wishes that you did grant. Meeting my “prince” on a blind date in Hoboken. Falling in love and getting married (our wedding wasnt as fairytale as Kate but I did have an awesome dress) and being blessed with 4 little “princes” (I know you had no control over the prince part but you could have least put in a request for 1 girl).

However, here is where it starts to get a little fuzzy for me.  The “castle” I had in mind was a 4-bedroom, 3.5 bath colonial with a great room and finished basement not a 2 bedroom 1.5 bath townhouse with 2 closets for 6 people. I saw myself in more of a SUV type “coach” or at least something Italian not a Town and Country minivan (I don’t care if it has stow-and-go seats or not).  I pictured my days filled with charity work, meetings with other high-powered CEOs and weekly spa appointments and trips to designer boutiques. Not working 8-4 in a law firm with the only “spa” being my bathroom and an exfoliating scrub purchased at Target.

I would be very sophisticated or at least pulled together wearing cute outfits that were always in style. Never did I think I would own “good” hoodies and yoga pants or be caught dead in a fleece zip up. I dreamed of a trainer who could come to my “castle” 5 days a week for an intense work. When acquaintances would see me they  would say Gee you look good
I hate you!
 not You look good…..for someone who had 4 kids.

The thing that upsets me most Fairy Godmother, is never did I envision my days “off”  spent scrubbing toilets and tackling loads of never-ending laundry.  I don’t mind laundry as much (minus the folding) but toilets? Come on FG, throw me a bone or at least a cleaning woman 1x a month.

This coming May I have a very big birthday and I would really appreciate it if you could work your magic wand on some of my requests. I am not asking for all, especially with the economy being what it is,  but maybe just 1 or 2?? Please???? Thank you in advance!

Yours truly,
Cinderella

 

Oliver Herford illustrated the fairy godmother...

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “#TBT: Fairy Godmother, I have a bone to pick with you

  1. I feel like I never had a chance at being Cinderella. I was maybe one of the mice she sang to or possibly a glass slipper. Hee. I loved this post.

  2. Mrs. Jeter on said:

    P.S. FG-Don’t forget my loft near Lincoln Center!!
    Love this post!!!

  3. Hilarious! I know how you feel! I just had to go into hospital to have my gall bladder removed and I pretended I was going to the day spa – that’s what I told the anaesthetist as they put me under. I’ve just had the longest night’s sleep in more than 5 years and feel pretty amazing despite being minus a gall bladder. It’s all relative isn’t it? Chaos commences this afternoon with the return of the kids.

    • Mrs. Jeter on said:

      I work on prisoner cases and thought a weekend in solitary confinement didn’t sound so bad- 3 meals, a book, naps- what’s not to like? Agreed it’s all relative!

  4. Reblogged this on mommy&everything and commented:

    Happy Throwback Thursday everyone!! The following was one of my first posts from back in March 2012. Sadly, it still rings true today (lol).

    Thanks for reading and have a good day 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

