mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

Pity party table for 1

This image shows a red wine glass.

This image shows a red wine glass. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today was not a good day, even for a Monday. Work totally SUCKED was busy, I ate lunch late and, as a result, gorged on way too many jellybeans and Hershey kisses (wait…maybe that was a highlight?). I followed the same annoying, slow-ass cautious driver to AND from work (light blue Subaru with temp tags) and heard not one good song on the radio (minor but still not a plus). I bought the wrong Shake-n-Bake so dinner was just eh (although 3 of the 4 kids did try the chicken) and I realized my kids are possessed super over-tired and cranky.

On days like today, I know the popular thing to do would be to focus on the positive, put the day behind me or just be thankful for what I have but you know what, not me, not tonight.  Tonight I am going to host a pity party for myself. I am going to wallow in self-pity and repeat WHY ME??? (in a whiney voice) over and over again. I am going to drag my feet and myself into the kitchen for a drink (of wine) and mumble GOD I AM SOOO FAT as I sneak m&ms out of the fridge. I am going to lay on the couch and ask myself (and L) WHY DOES THIS KID NEVER GO TO SLEEP???!! And for the icing on the cake, I will force myself to read all the sappy, super happy, made up and totally exaggerated great posts by my friends on Facebook. Heck I may even do a vague post just for the hell of it.

Why not right? It can’t be healthy to always suck it up Buttercup, look on the bright side or turn lemons into lemonade. Besides, if you never have a pity party, even for a couple of hours, how can you fully appreciate it when you do have a truly great day?

Hopefully my pity party will not last into the wee hours of the morning and tomorrow I will wake up tomorrow totally refreshed, ready to call out sick take on the day. For now though I will take the advice of Pink and “raise my glass” to myself and say CHEERS!

ps – only 1 large glass of red wine was consumed while writing this post

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Pity party table for 1

  1. We all deserve to complain and pity ourselves once in a while, keeping it all together can be really frustrating day in and day out.

  2. I hope by now you have moved on to the second glass of wine! Hope tomorrow is a better day!

  3. Mrs. Jeter on said:

    I knew you were having a bad day when we only emailed each other 10 times today instead of the usual 40 or so … You enjoy your party- nothing beats a red “whine” / m&m combo 🙂

  4. We’re all entitled to have a little pitty party of our own….I think it’s good for the soul, to get all those emotions out!

Leave a Reply

