mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

The one who got away (sort of)

Adele [Someone Like You]

I must admit, I was late getting on the Adele band wagon. I tried but I just could not get into “Rolling in the Deep” and when I did kisten the chorus would stick in my head all day (don’t you hate that?!).

Then I heard “Someone Like You” and OMG was I a changed woman. That song was (and is) A-Mazing!  The minute I heard it I thought it was the perfect song to listen to after a break up. Sitting in sweats, or pjs, hair in a ponytail, tear-stained face, tissues everywhere and a pint of ice cream nearby as you belt out “who would have known how bittersweet this would taste”.

Last week, on my Easter Bunny trip to Target, I saw the CD while on the check out line. It was an impulse buy I couldn’t pass up. Now I could listen to my 3 favorite songs over and over (this is what I do with CDs, I only listen to the songs I know).

Today on my ride into work I was listening to Adele and was brought back to my first real crush. This was not a run of the mill crush, this was a serious, lasted for years kind of crush and his name was C. 

Ahhhhhh. I first saw C when I was in 8th grade and my friend L took me to a high school basketball game (she was a freshman at the time). The moment I saw C time stood still, he was the most beautiful creature I had ever seen (I was 14 and had only seen George Clooney on the Facts of Life).

C and I went the same high school and I stared at him every chance I got. I am pretty sure he didn’t know I existed,  except maybe to know that I was in his brother’s class. Oh, the love I had for this boy. Just seeing him in the hallway would make my day.

I can clearly remember the day, sophomore year, when it was just me and him in the hallway under the church. I was wearing my uniform and had a banana clip in my hair (it was the late 80s) and he said HI. O-M-G I practically skipped back to class to tell my friends!

For my 15th birthday my friends gave me a picture of C that I kept in my jewelry box, it was a treasure. Nothing could compare to the excitement I felt at the party following my junior ring ceremony. C had left his varsity baseball jacket in a bedroom and I was modeling it for my friends. We were just about to take my picture in it when the police came and broke up the party (some kids thought it would be a good idea to smoke pot in the front yard – damn them!).

C was oblivious to my crush and dated a couple of girls in school. I was utterly heart-broken when he started hooking up with S, a cheerleader no less, at a basketball game. I went home that night and cried my eyes out while listening to the Tiffany song “Could’ve Been”. There is nothing like teenage heartbreak (even if the entire romance was in your head).

I  never saw C or his brother after high school (not even on Facebook if you can believe that).  I wonder what happened to him. Did he go to college? Did he move away? Did he get married and have kids? C if you ever read this just know “we could have had it all”  (lol)

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The one who got away (sort of)

Leave a Reply

