mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

My Summer Happy Song

Smiley Face

Smiley Face (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

My taste in music is far from cutting edge. I used to be a “top 40” kinda girl but now I find myself gravitating toward the “light fm” or “great for the office” kind of stations. It’s not all bad, it’s a mix of the 90s and today (ok, it sounds worse than it is) but it is important that I be able to sing along, or at least bop my head along, to the songs playing.

Mrs. Jeter makes fun of me all the time, she is able to sing along with current songs on Pandora while I am humming along to the  best of the 80s. She will occassionally email me lyrics to a song she is liking or listening to in an attempt to get me to change my station and come into the new millenium. Usually I ignore her but a couple of weeks ago she got me hooked on a song that has now become my “happy song” – “Call Me Maybe” by Carly Rae Jepsen.

O-M-G LOVE this song, the music is just SO… happy. Luckily it is usually playing on all my stations at the same time so I am able to hear it often. No matter what kind of mood I am in, as soon as I hear the beginning beats I am happy (at least until the end of the song).

I have had other “happy songs” (“Write me a love song” and “Stronger”) and I won’t turn my back on them – how could I when they have been there for me over the years. However, this summer is all about Carly (or at least until the end of July when it is over played).

I heard today that Carly Rae is opening for Justin Beiber on tour. Wow, in the blink of an eye I have gone from “easy listening” to “tween”.

Happy Tuesday and may you find yourself a happy song for the summer. Until you do, I will share some of my song:

Hey, I just met you, and this is crazy, but here’s my number, so call me, maybe? It’s hard to look right, at you baby, but here’s my number, so call me, maybe? Hey, I just met you, and this is crazy, but here’s my number, so call me, maybe?

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “My Summer Happy Song

  1. Mrs. Jeter on said:

    That song is just so catchy- and you are right- happy! I also feel happy with one direction’s “you don’t know you’re beautiful” (you light up my life like nobody else….) and I think that I finally have beiber-fever. Yes I am 41. Maybe it’s the summer. I don’t know.

  2. Allie on said:

    I totally agree with Mrs Jeter…you need to get hooked on You don’t know you’re beautiful…and I love Call me Maybe as well…welcome to 2012!

Leave a Reply

