mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

And it pivots!!

Image representing UPS  as depicted in CrunchBase

Image via CrunchBase

Driving home from work the other day I was trying very hard to go to my happy place. I got stuck at work late, traffic was a nightmare and L was screaming in the back of the van that he wanted to get out of his car seat – just your typical commute home.

I pulled into the driveway just as the UPS truck was leaving. Hmmmmm, I wonder what came from UPS, I hope it’s my leave-in conditioner (the humid weather was doing a number on my hair and I had run out of conditioner a week ago) was all I could think as I dragged L (literally) through the front door.

Immediately the twins greeted me by asking what was for dinner, J wanted juice and L still crying for no reason. I went into the kitchen to pour juice and saw the husband standing by the table with an Amazon box. Is that for me???? I said a little too excitedly.

No, it’s for me the husband said with a smile, I got us a present! Oh god, what now? was all I could think. The husband’s idea of a “present” was usually some type of food item in bulk or a tv series on dvd. Within the past year I had seen my share of the Canadian show “Trailer Park Boys” and eaten enough granola bars and mixed nuts to last a lifetime.

Gee, what food is it this time? I asked with just a hint of sarcasm. Wait till you see, the husband said. Amazon had a Deal of the Day and I just couldn’t resist, you are gonna love this he said as he ripped open the box. The kids were all in the kitchen and we all stood there waiting for the unveiling –  it was a little like the scene in A Christmas Story when the fragile leg lamp arrives.

Finally, the box is open and the husband holds up “our” present – the Black & Decker PAV1200W 12V Automotive Pivot Vac.

Never have you seen 5 faces drop so quickly. All that build up for a car vac?! Who the hell gets excited over a car vac? And, how is that different from the 3 other car vacs we have in the attic?

The husband giddily took “our” present into the other room and I started dinner wishing my conditioner had been in that damn Amazon box.

The next day I came down to make coffee and the husband was sitting at the table with his new toy. He had just finished putting it together and he couldn’t wait to show me.

Honey, look at this…it is amazing, it plugs into the cigarette lighter, it’s 12 volts – 12! Look it comes with brushes and even a carrying case AND it PIVOTS! Now I can get into the hard-to-reach places in the van!

The husband and I have been together 15 years, I like to think that we know each other pretty well, so seriously, how could he think ANY of this would interest me?

I stared at him blankly, a million sarcastic comments running through my head. The husband looked SO happy with his toy. He was demonstrating the pivot action and all I could manage was I guess how you feel about this vac is how I feel about a new lip gloss huh?

The husband laughed and went outside to try out the vac. I sipped my coffee and skimmed People.com and wondered if George Clooney ever bought his girlfriends a car vac.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “And it pivots!!

  1. Lol this is too funny!

  2. Mrs. Jeter on said:

    Hahaha!!! Boys and their toys!

  3. Pingback: Trailer Park Boys In High Def « THE SCARECROW

Leave a Reply

