mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

Humbled and thankful

When I started this blog WAY back last February, I never thought anyone would read it. Why would anyone want to waste their time reading my ramblings? I remember a co-worker commenting on blogging once and saying something like why do people think we care what they have to say?

So I kept the blog a secret from most, slowly let others in. I was scared to death thinking people would have a field day making fun of me and my blogs. The big turning point came when I eventually posted the blog on my Facebook page (to be honest, I did block all work people from the feed). Once your blog is on Facebook, there is no turning back. All your “friends” can read it, pass it on or comment – yikes!

In the beginning I avoided Facebook updates and even went as far as to hide my head at family gatherings. I didn’t want anyone to feel like they HAD to say something nice about the blog or to make fun of me. It was very difficult for me to allow family and friends to read my  thoughts and know what was going on with me. 

I am a private person and usually answer with an I’m fine or Nothing if asked how I am or if something is bothering me. A perfect example was when J was diagnosed with ASD and it took me 2 months to tell my mother.

Sloooowly I began to read the comments (and check my stats) and I was floored by the feedback and quite frankly, humbled by the response. Old friends and new friends, not to mention extended family,  have taken time out of their busy schedules to send me amazing messages or comment on a blog. I can’t begin to express what that means to me.

I am not very good at accepting compliments, it’s easier for me to make fun of myself or say something sarcastic to take the pressure off. Now here were people sharing stuff with me and telling me how they could relate to something  I had written – I was speechless.

I was most shocked by absolute strangers, people out there in the blogosphere, not only reading my blog (friends and family were almost forced these people did it voluntarily)  taking the time to write a comment. I will never forget the time another blogger (thatfunnyblog) actually said of my blog …It is real world humor! Perfect humor because it covers the story of your world. I love it. I almost cried (very out of character for me).

I want to thank all of you for reading my blogs (the good and bad ones) and for supporting me when I took this GIANT step out of my comfort zone. I don’t want to get too mushy but really, it means a lot to me.

So now I have a question for you, I am thinking of changing the name of the blog. When I started I thought I would just share some of my many mommy stories (hence mommy&everything). Now, however, I feel like I have grown from strictly mommy stuff. Yes, I am a mommy (and I will ALWAYS have stories) but I am also a lot of other things (be nice!) and I need a name that will capture that (and my witty sarcasm – lol).

Any suggestions are apprecited. I will keep you updated and let you in on the new name (if it happens).  In the meantime, THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for your support!! xox

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Humbled and thankful

  1. How about you call it “the real life adventures of the real Mrs. Grey”- lol.

  2. Ooooh, I love that one! haha!! Absolutely love your blogs! And I think the name is just fine 🙂

Leave a Reply

