mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

Act 2

IMG_0407Hello friends in blogosphere, I am back from yet another self-induced hiatus. I don’t know what happened to me there in the month of December. One minute I am happily blogging about the husband offering beer to a repair man and then BAM! It’s January 2013.

Honestly, that is not entirely true. Whenever I stop blogging, even if it is for a short time, I get a sort of stage fright when I try to start another post.

I stare at the blank screen, type a couple of words and then hit delete. The longer I stare at the screen the harder it becomes to write anything. My mind starts playing tricks on me and before I know it I am doubting my abilities to put together even the simplest of sentences.

Thoughts like I’ll just try again tomorrow. I can only write in the morning. Eh, I am not feeling it, I’ll start fresh on Monday or Who cares what silly things I have to write about anyway?? run rampant through my head and before I know it, I am online shopping at the Gap of Loft.

My procrastination caused me a lot unnecessary retail therapy – that did, however, allow me to get a few awesome bargains as well as a lot of jealousy of the other bloggers I follow who had ZERO problems posting something brilliant every day.

Well it is the beginning of the new year and time to start fresh (yet again). As Hot Mrs. Jeter told me earlier, it is time for “Act 2” (see Jeter, you thought I wasn’t paying attention).

Since it is so early in the new year, I feel almost obligated to look back on 2012 and all that happened – the good, bad, ugly and mundane.

The year 2012 was a mixed bag of emotions for me. The highs were REALLY high and the lows REALLY low  – scattered amongst a bunch of in-between moments. Maybe I set my expectations too high or maybe I am just hard to please  or maybe I am just human.

There was loss in 2012. Some sad but expected and others horrible and tragic. The one positive about loss of any kind, is that it makes you take stock of your life and appreciate (even if it is briefly) family. Suddenly the husband not doing laundry or the kids fighting constantly over one blue Lego block seem inconsequential.

Milestones were a plenty in 2012.

In May, I turned 40 – much to my horror. All thost months I spent dreading May 20th seemed for naught in the end. When my birthday finally came,  I smiled (mostly) and tried not to focus so much on the number but rather the things I had learned along the way and, the things I have to still look forward to.

The twins started kindergarten and rode the bus.  L my “baby” turned 3, started pre-k AND kicked his binky habit and J potty trained! And let us not forget me becoming an assistant Soccer Mom.

2012 also brought with it a LOT of new and exciting things. I started a blog (who the hell ever knew that would happen). There are actually people out there who read my blog AND they are NOT related to me. Strangers (and loved ones) have taken time out of their day to read my blog and even comment. Holy crap!! I am truly thankful and appreciate you and your comments.

I wrote an article that was published in a real magazine (thank you Lucy and NJ Family)!! Me, I did that??!!

Old friendships were strengthened, new ones were formed and some were even rekindled.

I had a slight mid-life crisis, suffered a little lot of personal drama (most self-inflicted) and took a kettlebell class (which resulted in a back injury but that is a blog for another day).

I  lost and gained 5 pounds, went to an A-MAZING “end of the world” party and survived a trip with 4 kids to Ikea. It has been quite a year.

Through all the good and bad I have tried (not always successfully) to maintain my sense of humor and not take things too seriously. Ok, maybe  I did not handle all my situations with grace, but I did survive them and really, isn’t that all that matters?

Good bye 2012. Looking back, you were not SO bad. I am alive and thankful for all the friends and family who put up with me on a daily basis.

Ok 2013, it is time to begin Act 2. Fingers crossed, knock on wood it is gonna be a good one!!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Act 2

  1. Diane Basile on said:

    About time you wrote somethng.

  2. Hot Mrs. Jeter on said:

    Act 2 is always way more interesting than Act 1. I think 2013 is going to be awesome 🙂

  3. terri basile on said:

    glad ur back was wondering when it would happen

Leave a Reply

