mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

Unexpectantly attacked by the green-eyed monster

I was all set today to do a blog about my kids and their foray into sports via the PAL League. I was toying with some title ideas at my desk (for some reason I can only do a post AFTER I come up with a title) and chatting with Magic Mike when I decided to check my emails.

29 messages – I am SO important. One by one I deleted the various retail announcements from my friends Gap, Ann Taylor and Piperlime before getting to my town’s news update and “jobs I may be interested in” on LinkedIn. I was just about to hit delete again  when I noticed a WordPress invitation from a good friend of mine.

My mind raced as I stared at the invite.

Huh, what is this? Is this my friend Desi? It has to be, isn’t that her picture staring at me? When did Desi start a blog and more importantly, why didn’t she tell me????? OMG look at her hair in that picture, it looks amazing!

Quickly I logged into WordPress and frantically searched for Desi’s blog. After a couple of minutes of searching (don’t ask) I found it. Holy Crap, look at her blog, it is f’n amazing!! I love that format, how the hell did she find that?? immediately popped into my head.

I started scrolling through her posts and her “About” page and became more and more amazed by her writing ability.

Desi is one of those people who is blessed with having a way with words. She can make anything sound great and she does it effortlessly.

In her spare time she writes books and/or screenplays (no, I am not kidding, and I have even been privy to reading some of them) and can come up with a haiku in a moment’s notice.

Since once of Desi’s jobs is attorney-at-law, I have also saught her help in “legal speak” when drafting letters or memos for work.

Months ago, Desi had mentioned to me about wanting to start a blog. Although writing was only done in her “spare time” (she is also married and a mom of 2), it was her true passion and when she is happiest.

You should TOTALLY start a blog, it would be SO good and you are a great writer! I encouraged from the passenger seat in her van. I dunno, maybe was her response and we left it at that.

Over the holidays Desi allowed me to read part of her newest writing adventure (a novel) and I was really floored. How the hell does she come up with that stuff? I would NEVER be able to write like that or even come up with an idea like that I thought as I finished the last page.

Ok, I will admit to being a tad bit jealous, I mean come on, who wouldn’t be. Writing comes so easy to Desi and she writes like a real author.

I shared my thoughts with my mom and got Gee, what a shock, you jealous?  I know, I know, but this is a different type of jealousy I rebutted before getting distracted by a screaming child.

Yes, it is true I can be hugely a bit jealous of other people at times – friends, acquaintances, celebrities and strangers – my jealousy has no prejudices.

I don’t mean to be jealous it just sorta of happens. Seriously though, who among us has not been jealous of the co-worker who came back to work from maternity leave in her pre-baby skirt or the neighbor who was able to sell their townhouse AND buy a new, bigger house. Or a friend carrying a new Coach bag?

Yes, I know jealousy is a bad thing (isn’t it 1 of the 7 deadly sins?) but at least I can admit I have a problem. Also, just because I’m sometimes jealous, it doesn’t mean I’m unappreciative or a mean person.

My jealousy is just a flaw in my otherwise, almost flawless, personality (lol).

Anyway, the more I read Desi’s blog the more I could feel the jealousy creeping up on me and, before I knew it, I was emailing my mom telling her that I was going to delete my WordPress account because Desi’s blog is THAT good. (I also emailed my Blogging Mentor for a pick-me up too).

Please do not misunderstand me, I LOVE Desi (no really I do) and the jealousy I feel for her is not mean-spirited in any way, shape of form.  I want nothing but the best for her and I am SO happy that she is finally pursuing the blog.

She has a real talent and others need to be made aware of it ASAP – and she told me when she is famous I’ll be her personal assistant so I can quit my job.

I guess my real problem is that I constantly doubt my own abilities (in everything) so naturally when I read her blog I had to automatically compare it to mine. WTF is wrong with me?

I started blogging for me not for Desi or my mom or anyone else. It was something I wanted to do and decided to take a chance and I have not regretted it once.

This blog has been an exciting journey for me, a real step outside my comfort zone. I’ve met some truly wonderful people and I learn something about myself, and blogging in general, everyday.

I am not going to lie, I would LOVE to be “Freshly Pressed” (come on..admit it WordPress bloggers you do to) but regardless, I am  happy of proud of myself (kinda).

Desi, if and when you read this, please don’t hate me. I am VERY, VERY happy for you and your new blog. I am going to tell all my friends about it and I wish you nothing but success, you deserve it and I love you (in a non-romantic way of course).

I am sorry that I was bitten by the green-eyed monster this morning and I hope you can understand. I can’t wait to see what 2013 has in store for you and I hope you will share with me and take me along for the ride!!!

images

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Unexpectantly attacked by the green-eyed monster

  1. Your blog is what inspired me, silly. I LOVE your blog and look forward to it everyday and get pissed when you don’t post. You are the published author here (Hello? Magazine article in actual paper form?). I think you have it backwards- you are taking me along for your ride (:))
    Thanks for the kind words. They made me cry. (And for the hair comment too!! )

Leave a Reply

