mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

30 Days of Thanks

I can not even begin to count the number of drafts I have accumulated the past couple months, each one another attempt at a blog post.

I’m not sure what my problem is or was.  I have TONS of “stuff” to chat with you guys about. Ideas pop into my head all the time. However, when I sit down and try to blog about something I come up blank.

Frustrated,  I figured maybe my life as a blogger was over.  Who was I kidding thinking I was a real blogger anyway??!

Then my friend, and blogging mentor/inspiration, CC at A Working Mom Today asked me if I wanted to take part with her in the annual “30 Days of Thanks” and it was as if I could hear the angels singing from above – YES! I answered, I would love to give it a try.

After I hit send, however,  I thought,  Wait a minute, 30 days of being thankful??? Wow, that is so NOT a Nicole type of blog. Ugh, how the heck am I going to be sappy and thankful for an entire month??!!

Regardless, I am going to give it a try, at least it will get me back to blogging daily again. In typical Nicole fashion,  I am already 4 days behind. Instead of quitting though, I decided to begin my “thanksgiving” by summarizing my thanks for the first 4 days of November.

Ready? Here we go!

Nov 1st:
HANDS DOWN the thing I was most thankful for was that all 4 kids had school!!  Halloween was a crazy day filled with sugar, parades, parties and LOTS of trick-or-treating. The boys stayed up WAY past their usual bedtime and woke up Friday with a Halloween Hangover of sorts.

No one was happier than me when their buses pulled up and took them away to school THANK YOU school!

Nov. 2:
A couple of years ago I met my friend Mrs. Mayor when our kids attended the same pre-school. One day she mentioned being in  a book club and my ears perked up. I had always wanted to be in a book club, maybe this would be something fun??

I am still not sure what came over me, but somehow shy, timid me, managed to send Mrs. Mayor an email inviting myself to go with her to her book club.

More surprisingly,  Mrs. Mayor agreed to let me tag along with her thus starting my membership into “Book Club”.

Thank you Book Club. Because of you I have met so many wonderful women, women I probably would not have met otherwise. It’s great to know a bunch of ladies that that you can laugh, share stories with be sarcastic and have a glass (or 2 ) of wine with!

Nov. 3:
Sunday was tough. We lost an hour of sleep (wtf with daylight savings time??) and the kids were in rare form by 2pm – because technically it was 3pm but you can’t explain that to a toddler.

They had already watched tv, Monsters University and played with Wii – yikes what else was there to do?????

I know….have a belated Halloween with Aunt Terri.

It was win-win for everyone! Aunt Terri got to see the kids in their costumes AND the boys got to dress up again in their favorite costumes and mooch more candy! So for that, I am thankful for Halloween costumes!

Nov. 4:
It’s a cold Monday here in the Garden State. After a long weekend filled with too much sugar and wine, today I am thankful for control-top tights – enough said!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “30 Days of Thanks

  1. What a great idea! 30 days of thanks. I love it. Good luck posting daily- you can do it.

Leave a Reply

