mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

30 Days of Thanks: Day 5

No your eyes are not deceiving you, it is really a blog post from me AGAIN – that’s 2 in a row for anyone keeping track.

This month I am taking part of “30 Days of Thanks” with my blogging mentor CC over at A Working Mom Today. Up until now I have avoided the “it’s November let’s give thanks” blog posts but I was in a bit of a blogging rut and thought this would force inspire me to blog daily.

Nov. 5:
I am not the most diligent when it comes to my health. I am great with my kids. I take them for yearly well-visits, although this year I was 10 months late with L, get them flu shots and make sure they are current with vaccinations.

However, when it comes to me I fall short. I have yet to schedule my well-visit, or for that matter choose a new primary doctor, and I am a year late for a mammogram.

I had every intention of going for the mammogram last year, heck, I had the script and everything.  I always found some excuse to delay making the appointment. Some of my excuses were valid, but most not so much.

Come on, let’s be honest, how many women actually WANT to go for a mammogram??

Finally, last week I sucked it up, put on my big-girl panties and made the phone call to schedule an appointment and today was the day – whooo hoooo (not!).

My stomach was in a knot when I pulled into the parking lot but I dragged myself up and out of the car. The waiting room was empty (it was only 7:45a) and I was greeted with a smile and “Good Morning” before handing over my insurance card and photo id.

You can do this, it will be quick and painless – relatively speaking, I thought.

Soon Sue came out to get me and walk me to the dressing room when a panicked thought entered my head Oh no, PLEASE don’t tell me I will have to wear that horrible pink, bolero-type gown and sit in a waiting room with other women????!!!

Today was my lucky day, the changing room was empty AND Sue handed me a nice blue paper gown complete with (ladies are you sitting down?) snaps!

Yes, the paper gown, to be worn with the opening in the front, had snaps to keep it closed!!

Sue was awesome and the mammogram was over in less than 10 minutes. No, it wasn’t the most comfortable experience but it had to be done.

So today my friends, I am thankful for 2 things:

1) being able to get a yearly mammogram and

2) a gown with snaps!

Enjoy your Tuesday everyone 🙂

 

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

