mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

Random Monday Thoughts

Hello and Happy Monday!

Let’s just jump into some Random Monday Thoughts shall we???

1) My new favorite app

As my family and friends will tell you (especially my mom) I spend a LOT of time on my iPhone. It’s an addiction really. If my phone is not near me at all times (this includes when I am sleeping) I begin experiencing withdrawal symptoms (lol). I can not tell you how many times the boys and I are all set to leave the house when I frantically call out WAIT…I can’t find my phone!!

If I am not checking my email or texting chances are I am on Facebook, reading some random article about a celebrity or looking at pictures on Instagram.

Anyway, since I am always on my phone, I am very particular about what wallpaper I use for my home AND lock screen. Up until a few weeks ago, the only wallpaper I ever used were pictures of the kids. It just seemed like a natural thing to do…. that was until I was introduced to the “Cuptakes” app.

“Cuptakes”, by Finely InTouch LLC,  is described as “wallpapers for the girly girls” and that is exactly what it is. There are over 350 custom wallpaper designs that to choose from. This app has it all, prints, toile, mixed patterns, glitter, bows and you should see the selection for Valentine’s Day – too cute!!

I am sure I am NOT the demographic Finely InTouch LLC was hoping to attract (40-something mom of 4 boy)  but I don’t care, I love it! Anytime I need a quick pick-me-up I  browse the app and find a happy looking wallpaper and add it to my phone.

It’s the little things in life after all right?? (lol).

2) My forgotten love…

I was browsing “My List” on Netflix the other night and decided to catch up on Don Draper and the guys at Sterling Draper Price etc otherwise known as Mad Men.

I was hesitant at first, it’s been a good year since I watched Don and the boys and I wasn’t sure if I would be able to get back into the series. Suppose Don had lost his charm or Bette became likeable??? Then what would I do??

Those fears were quickly put to rest after watching the opening credits and being transported back into the 1960s world of advertising.

Don was as handsome as ever, although his wife Megan annoyed the crap out of me, and I was SO happy to be back in his world. This was especially true when Roger Sterling appeared in a scene.

OMG I had forgotten how much I LOVE Roger Sterling (i.e. John Slattery). He is SOOOOOOOOOOO handsome!! I don’t know, if it’s the white hair or his biting sense of humor but whatever it is I love him.

Sure Roger has some faults – alcoholism, adultery, narcissism – but really who among us does not have a fault or 2 right??

Btw…for those of you who know about my love for George Clooney, did you know that John Slattery is married to actress Talia Balsam in real life (Mona on Mad Men) who is the ex-wife of George Clooney.

3) Thank god for little things

Last week I came across a bunch of old pictures of me and my brother. It was funny to see how ridiculous my mother dressed us and how much me and my youngest son L resemble each other.

One of the pictures was from my senior prom circa May 1990. My prom story is an interesting one that you can read about here.

To make a long story short, it was the week of prom and I had no date! A friend of mine fixed me up at the absolute last-minute with her friend Fred the Mailman (he was also 21).  Fred and I met 2 days before prom and he was such a good sport about the whole thing.

Ours was a short-lived romance (probably 8 hours total) but it made for a great memory and story over the years.

After looking at this prom picture, however, I now see that Fred should have been given an award (or at least booze) for taking me to prom!

That poor guy!! What must have gone through his head when this big haired girl (with even bigger eyebrows) came knocking on his window on a rainy Friday night in May????

LOL!!!!!!!!! I have stared at the picture all afternoon and don’t know what is worse, the hair or eyebrows???

Ugh!! THANK GOD I have since met and formed a forever friendship with Tweezerman.

Thanks for reading. Have a good week 🙂

Fred and My Eyebrows go to prom

Fred and My Eyebrows go to prom

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Random Monday Thoughts

  1. I LOVE the hair AND eyebrows! We all looked like that back then because of Brooke Shields!

Leave a Reply

