mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

Blogging 101

Wow, I can not believe it has been a year since my last blog post (gasp!!)!!

How can that be?

Back in the good ‘old days of 2012-13 I was blogging almost daily. I had an intimate following and looked forward to my blogging time. It was my alone time, a time when I would block the world out and write about something that was on my mind.

The more I blogged the more comfortable I became sharing my stories, thoughts or anecdotes. While I won’t kid myself into believing my blogs were “works or art” or “profound pieces of blogging literature” (well…at least not all of them), they were honest, sincere and more importantly mine.

Everyday blog ideas would pop in my head as I drove to work, got the kids ready for school or just went about my day. On a really good day, I would start “writing” the blog way before I got in front of my computer – the words forming in my head almost effortlessly.

Then one day I couldn’t think of anything to say. Meh, it’s just writer’s block, I told myself. It’ll pass, give yourself a day or 2 to regroup.

The days turned into weeks, months and now a year!! Yikes what happened?

Over the last year there have been times when I would drive to work and an idea would pop into my head, however, when I got to work I couldn’t get the words out.

I started to worry too much about everything – would people like it? would it be funny enough? relevant enough? popular enough?

Before long I was comparing myself to other bloggers and doubting every thought that came into my head. My blog isn’t smart like Blog Y or Freshly Pressed like X Blog.

Friends and family members would always ask me why aren’t you blogging anymore? where is your blog, it always made me laugh? when will you blog again??

I never had a good answer for them and always felt a little sad after I would give them a lame excuse.

Then last week I was at a happy hour with old co-workers when someone said Hey, what happened to your blogs, you were good at them…I read them all the time.

A day or 2 later I got the email about Blogging 101 and I took it as a sign from the Blogging Gods that I was supposed to come back and write so against my better judgment I signed up.

When I read today’s assignment who am I and why I’m here it made me feel sick. What the hell was I thinking that I could go back to blogging. No one cares what I have to say. What the heck am I supposed to say?

Then I started to read the intros of the other Blogging 101 folks and the panic really started to set in. Geez, those people all have something good to share. Look at how many already wrote a post!

Finally I took a deep breath, got off the couch and dug the laptop out. It had been SO long, I could barely remember how to login to WordPress. My hands shook a little when I hit the new post button but now here I am 546 words later woo hoo!!

This is surely not my best blog but it is a start – it’s all about the baby steps after all.

Lastly, I am making myself a promise in front of you my friends in the great Blogosphere, from this point forward I will blog for me.

I will stop worrying about what others think or what other bloggers are doing and just blog for the sake of blogging – because it makes me happy and feel good about myself.

Thank you for reading. I can’t wait for tomorrow’s assignment πŸ™‚

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Blogging 101

  1. Vicki on said:

    Woo hoo! Missed you.

  2. That’s is why we all take courses to learn and share . Glad you did.

  3. Linda on said:

    Yeah! Glad to see you are back at it!

  4. We are all here to learn something. I think it is great that you have started blogging again. If you worry too much about what others think of you and your blog then you will be inhibited and not enjoy it. Just go for it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

