mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

Today’s Daily PromptTell us about a book you can read again and again without getting bored — what is it that speaks to you?

Come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever re-read a book. Weird right?

Maybe if it was a book for school, I would have skimmed passages or chapters looking for facts to support a thought/theory.

I think I re-read parts of “Twilight” or “New Moon” but I can’t remember which one. It was the part when Edward went to Italy and was going to stand out in the sun because he loved Bella SO much. Sigh….I love Edward, he made fall in love with vampires. Bella, however, annoys me to no end. She’s so whiney! 

Before each “Hunger Games” movie I tell myself I’m going to read the book again to refresh my memory but it has yet to happen. I still haven’t seen “Mockingjay Part 2”  so there is still hope (lol). 

As I sit at my desk typing, the book that keeps popping up in my head is Judy Bloom’s “Forever.” I can’t remember how old I was when I read “Forever” but I am guessing 12 or 13. 

It was about Katharine and her first real love Michael and their relationship in high school and if they would take their relationship to the next level.

Love and sex, what more could a young teen want in a book! 

I was a HUGE Judy Bloom fan, as were most girls my age back in the late 70s and 80s. Her books were amazing and you always felt like Ms. Bloom could relate to what you were experiencing.

“Blubber”, “Are you there God it’s me Margaret”, “Blubber”, “Deenie” are just a few titles that come to mind. Oh how I loved those books! I remember devouring each one and being completely immersed in the character and her world.

Reading page after page desperately wanting to know how the story would end but also not wanting the story to end.

Reading “Forever” all those years ago I had ZERO clue what it was like to like a boy or fall in love.  I wonder what it would be like to read it now, some 30 or more years later, with a lot more life experience under my belt??? 

Hmmmm….I may go on Amazon after I post this and buy myself a copy. I promise to let you know how I liked it.

Thanks for reading. Have a nice weekend 🙂

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Second Time Around

  1. Perhaps the folks at WordPress know what they’re doing… now you want to read a book you’ve already read leaving to come back to this post later and update it that you’ve reread a book. 😉

  2. aha! i never thought of that. those WordPress folks are pretty sneaky 😉

  3. I gave you Twilight!! Remember how uncertain you were? I had to beg you. #TeamEdward 🙂

Leave a Reply

