mommy&everything

trying to find myself and humor in life

Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

Today’s Daily Prompt Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

My name is Nicole  which means “victor for the people.”

Exciting right?

My entire family has called me Nikki for as long as I can remember. Here’s a fun fact, I didn’t even know my real name was Nicole until I started pre-school and the teacher called “Nicole”.

There was also a period when I was Little Nikki since I have an uncle named Nick but I’ll save that for another blog.

I was never thrilled with my name. Growing up in the 70s and 80s (damn, did I give my age away?), there were very few Nicoles.

Miss Nancy NEVER said my name on “Romper Room” in her damn Magic Mirror. And you would be hard-pressed to find “nicole” on a comb or mirror in the local 5&10 store.

Nope, all the Jennifers and Marys monopolized that market. 

Once, I begged my mom to change my name to Karen after a Mousketeer on The Mickey Mouse Club but she said no.

But whhhyyyyyy?????? I would whine to her. WHY did you name me Nicole???? I hate my name! (insert pouting face).

Mom never really gave me a really good reason why my name was Nicole, just that her and my dad liked it.

In college, I switched things up a bit and went by Nikki. My reasoning was new life chapter – new name.

My college and high school friends call me Nikki. My husband and his family call me Nicole (don’t ask) and co-workers call me Nicole. However, on occasion I will answer to Danielle as I have been told that I “look like a Danielle.”

Nowadays (this is a word, I Googled it), I mostly answer to Mom or Mommy – the BEST name ever unless it is 3am or it is said on a repeat loop (lol).

Not that long ago, one of my sons told me he hated his name and wanted to change it.

WHAT?! WHY? Do you know how many months Daddy and I agonized over what to name you?? I LOVE your name and you can’t change it!

Payback sucks huh? 😉

Thanks for reading have a good week!

ps – the Urban Dictionary defines “nicole” as  an awesome person that is often imitated but never duplicated. Take that all you Jennifers!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

  1. Roberta Thompson on said:

    I thought your name was Aunt Mikki!

  2. I know a couple of Nicoles and they are all awesome! Looks like your parents nailed it 🙂

  3. Our parents all tell us “it’ll come back to haunt you…” Thanks for sharing Nicole.

  4. haha my name is the longest in my family and I felt like changing my name at a time too… but now I love my name… There’s a reason why mom dad named me so… 😀

    It was so funny that your son is asking to change his name and you get to remember all the good and angsty hours you might have spent thinking other good names for yourself and your parents denied you… haha

    awesome post..

Leave a Reply

